Return to Headlines

2020-2021 District Level Teachers of the Year

On January 13, 2021, a committee selected the following teachers as 2020-2021 District-Level Teachers of the Year.  They will represent Sevier County at the state level, competing for the 2021 Tennessee Teacher of the Year.

Primary Grades Teacher (PreK-4): Miriam Alvarez, Pre-K-4, Pi Beta Phi Elementary

Middle Grades Teacher (5-8): Kelly McCarter, 5-8, Seymour Intermediate

Secondary Grades Teacher (9-12): Dustin Helton, 9-12, Pigeon Forge High School

These teachers were chosen from among many applicants by a panel of professional colleagues.  The following is a list of the teachers nominated from each school who chose to compete in the district-level competition.

Holly Sharp - Catlettsburg Elementary

Chad Loveday - Jones Cove Elementary

Bobby Payne  - Northview Junior Academy

Cassie Cate - Northview Primary

Lydia Huskey - Pigeon Forge High School

Jared Ownby - Pigeon Forge Junior High

Kellyn Adams - Pigeon Forge Junior High

Ashley Hess - Pigeon Forge Primary

Calleigh Harrell - Pittman Center Elementary

Shawn Cole - Sevier County High School

Angela Wells - Sevier County High School

Huguetta Williams - Sevier County High School

Samantha Gibson - Sevierville Intermediate

Brittany Cogdill - Sevierville Middle

Naomi Hanna - Seymour Primary

LeAnne Webb - Seymour Intermediate 

Congratulations to these teachers for this high accolade.  It is a true honor to be held in such high esteem by the colleagues that work with them on a daily basis.